deen
home
neuroscience

weaving a career in neurobiology

a long way round

antibodies

Becoming a neurobiologist hasn't always been my prime target. In fact, I didn't even care a lot for biology until the final years of school. Even then I didn't care much about the diverging ear-sizes of foxes. Molecular repressors on the other hand I found to be a very neat idea that induced my interest in biological mechanisms. The next thing that caught my interest was the fact that cancer cells are able to reproduce indefinitely while neurons aren't. So my naive brain thought about combining these two cell-types for an obvious solution to paraplegia. Especially since I wanted Christopher Reeve (still alive at that time) to rise up from his wheel-chair and make a new Superman movie.
This could have been a perfectly romantic entrance into neurobiology. But much like a toddler's journey from its first wobbly steps to walking erect, I didn't take the straightest road, skipping all the exploration fun. Instead I matriculated in physics/astronomy at the University of Bonn, due to my ongoing interest in astronomy since my early childhood. After two semesters, though, I realized that although astronomy is a great subject, being an astronomer just wasn't what I wanted to be for the rest of my life. So I switched to the University of Aachen and studied biology. Seeing the beauty in simple but astonishing little things like the open/close mechanism of stomata, re-awakened my fascination for the life sciences. Thus I successfully finished my bachelor's degree in biology and then chose neurobiology as the major of my master's studies.

doing a master's thesis

Prof Dr Jörg Mey (L), Daniel Fandel M.Sc. (R)

So by now I had finally chosen my path. I wanted to work in the field of neuroregeneration, preferably in the spinal cord. I had previously been working in transportation of the disabled for over a year, so I had a quite personal interest in this particular area of neuroscience. Thankfully, there was a research group in Aachen working on this subject. So I contacted group leader Professor Dr. Jörg Mey in order to ask for the opportunity to do my master's thesis in his research group. At that time, however, he had already left the university for spain, where he had established the research group Grupo Regeneración Nerviosa at the Hospital Nacional de Parapléjicos in Toledo. Luckily, Professor Mey offered me the opportunity to do my master's thesis there.
So I spent six months in Toledo, investigating injury-dependent changes in expression of the nuclear receptor PPARα in the spinal cord. After another four months in Germany, quantifying and analyzing the acquired data and writing the actual manuscript, I finally submitted my thesis. The results (together with those of Dante Wasmuht's Bachelor's Thesis) were published in Brain Research under the title: Fandel et al. (2013) Spinal cord injury induced changes of nuclear receptors PPARα and LXRβ and modulation with oleic acid/albumin treatment. Brain Res. 1535:89-105

outside the lab

poster at EURON PhD Meeting

I spent the following months attending various events: I participated in the EURON PhD Meeting 2012 in Maastricht (Netherlands), where I presented the results of my master's project at a poster session.
In preparation for my future in the lab, I took courses in rat locomotor behaviour analysis techniques as well as in laboratory animal care and experimental methods at the University of Düsseldorf, via the latter obtaining the certificate of technical qualification for people involved in animal testing.

current assignment

As of august 2013 I am doing my doctorate in the Laboratory of Molecular Neurobiology at the Heinrich Heine University of Düsseldorf under the direction of Professor Dr. Hans Werner Müller and Dr. Veronica Estrada, kindly financed by the Jürgen Manchot Stiftung. Here I continue investigating the mechanisms of nerve regeneration after spinal cord injury and its improvement.

Molecular Neurobiology, HHU Düsseldorf, Müller Group

deen
Startseite
neurowissenschaft

mein Weg zum Neurobiologen

alle Wege führen nach Rom

Antikörper

Neurobiologe zu werden war nicht mein Kindstraum. Genaugenommen habe ich mich vor der Oberstufe nicht sonderlich für Biologie interessiert. Und selbst zu dieser Zeit waren mir die verschiedenen Ohrengrößen von Füchsen relativ gleich. Molekulare Repressoren dagegen hielt ich für eine großartige "Idee" der Natur, die mein Interesse an biologischen Mechanismen geweckt hat. Ebenso der Umstand, dass Krebszellen in der Lage sind, sich uneingeschränkt zu reproduzieren, während Nervenzellen dazu nicht in der Lage sind. Dadurch entstand in meinem Kopf die naive Idee, dass eine Kombination dieser beiden Zelltypen doch irgendwie Abhilfe für Querschnittsgelähmte schaffen könnte. Insbesondere wollte ich Christopher Reeve (damals noch am Leben) wieder gehen und einen neuen Superman Film drehen sehen.
Dies hätte ein perfekt romantischer Einstieg in die Neurobiologie sein können. Stattdessen ging ich jedoch einen kleinen Umweg und studierte zunächst Physik/Astronomie an der Universität von Bonn, da ich mich von Kind an für Astronomie interessiert habe. Nach zwei Semestern allerdings musste ich einsehen, dass Astronomie zwar ein interessantes Fach ist, ich mir jedoch nicht vorstellen konnte, den Rest meines Lebens Astronom zu sein. Daher wechselte ich an die RWTH Aachen und begann mein Studium der Biologie. Das Kennenlernen von simplen aber beeindruckenden Abläufen, wie dem Öffnungs-/Schließ-Mechanismus von Stomata, konnten meine Faszination für die Natur-/Lebenswissenschaften wiedererwecken. Dementsprechend beendete ich mein Bachelor Studium erfolgreich und wählte schließlich Neurobiologie als Vertiefung des Master-Studiengangs.

die Masterarbeit

Prof Dr Jörg Mey (L), Daniel Fandel M.Sc. (R)

Ich hatte also mein Ziel gefunden. Ich wollte mich mit Neuroregeneration befassen, bevorzugt im Rückenmark. Zwischen Schule und Studium hatte ich über ein Jahr lang im Behindertenfahrdienst gearbeitet, was mir einen stärkeren Bezug zu diesem Bereich der Neurowissenschaften verschaffte. Glücklicherweise gab es in Aachen eine Arbeitsgruppe, die sich mit diesem Thema beschäftigte. Ich kontaktierte daher den Arbeitsgruppenleiter Professor Dr. Jörg Mey in der Hoffnung, meine Masterarbeit innerhalb seiner Arbeitsgruppe anfertigen zu können. Zu jenem Zeitpunkt war Prof. Mey jedoch bereits nach Spanien ausgewandert und hatte dort die Arbeitsgruppe Grupo Regeneración Nerviosa am Hospital Nacional de Parapléjicos in Toledo eingerichtet. Zu meinem Glück bot er mir jedoch an, mich zwecks Anfertigung meiner Masterarbeit seiner neuen Arbeitsgruppe in Spanien anzuschließen.
Daher verbrachte ich sechs Monate in Toledo, wo ich verletzungsabhängige Veränderungen in der Expression des Kernrezeptors PPARα im Rückenmark untersuchte. Nach weiteren vier Monaten in Deutschland, in denen ich die Quantifizierung und Analyse der Daten durchführte, sowie das Manuskript meiner Thesis schrieb, reichte ich schließlich meine Abschlussarbeit ein. Die Ergebnisse der Arbeit (gemeinsam mit den Ergebnissen der Bachelorarbeit von Dante Wasmuht) wurden im Journal Brain Research publiziert, unter dem Titel: Fandel et al. (2013) Spinal cord injury-induced changes of nuclear receptors PPARα and LXRβ and modulation with oleic acid/albumin treatment. Brain Res. 1535:89-105

jenseits des Labors

mein Poster für das EURON PhD Meeting

In den folgenden Monaten besuchte ich diverse Veranstaltungen: Ich nahm am EURON PhD Meeting 2012 in Maastricht (Niederlande) teil, wo ich die Ergebnisse meiner Masterarbeit bei einer Poster-Session präsentiert habe.
Als Vorbereitung auf meine Zukunft im Labor besuchte ich an der Universität Düsseldorf Kurse über Analysetechniken der Motorik von Ratten sowie dem korrekten Umgang mit Versuchstieren gemäß Tierschutzgesetz.

aktuelle Aufgabe

Seit August 2013 promoviere ich im Labor für Molekulare Neurobiologie der Heinrich Heine Universität in Düsseldorf unter der Leitung von Professor Dr. Hans Werner Müller und Dr. Veronica Estrada, gefördert durch die Jürgen Manchot Stiftung. Hier arbeite ich weiter an der Untersuchung von Mechanismen der Nervenregeneration nach Rückenmarksverletzung und deren Verbesserung.

Molekulare Neurobiologie, HHU Düsseldorf, AG Müller